Suspended License Lawyer Colorado

Suspended LIcense Colorado
Suspended License Lawyer Colorado

You are probably reading this because you were cited with a Driving Under Restraint (DUR) or Driving Under Suspension Ticket.  You may have had no idea your license was revoked or restrained.  It’s not uncommon to be pulled over for speeding and wind up with a DUR/DUS ticket!

Why is my license suspended?

There are a variety of reasons why your drivers license in Colorado is suspended. Many common reasons include; but are not limited to, child support, excessive points against your license, unpaid tickets, DUI, HTO (Habitual Traffic Offender Status) or an active warrant in a traffic case -just to name a few.  We offer investigations into your driving history and court record checks to help you determine what is the issue with your drivers license.  This investigation can be, and is almost always is, essential to fighting your Driving Under Suspension Charge.  Call a Suspended License Lawyer Colorado for help!

Why didn’t I know My License Was Suspended?

I come into contact with many people who were pulled over for speeding and when the officer came back he gave them a ticket for Driving Under Suspension.  Generally, if your license has been suspended by the DMV, they will send a notice to your last known addressed -that you provided to the DMV.  This address could have been an address you used several years ago; but have moved may times and failed to update your address with the DMV.  Understand that it is your obligation keep your address updated with the DMV.

What is the Driving Under Suspension (DUS)/Driving Under Restraint (DUR) Law in Colorado?

§ 42-2-138(4)(b). Definition of Driving under restraint:”Restraint” or “restrained” means any denial, revocation, or suspension of a person’s license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle in this state or another state.

§ 42-2-138. Driving under restraint:  Any person who drives a motor vehicle or off-highway vehicle upon any highway of this state with knowledge that the person’s license or privilege to drive, either as a resident or a nonresident, is under restraint for any reason other than conviction of DUI, DUI per se, DWAI, or UDD is guilty of a misdemeanor. A court may sentence a person convicted of this misdemeanor to imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not more than six months and may impose a fine of not more than five hundred dollars.

What does the law mean by “knowledge” ?

§ 42-2-138(4)(a): “Knowledge” means actual knowledge of any restraint from whatever source or knowledge of circumstances sufficient to cause a reasonable person to be aware that such person’s license or privilege to drive was under restraint. “Knowledge” does not mean knowledge of a particular restraint or knowledge of the duration of restraint.

What are the penalties?

The reason for your license suspension or restraint will determine the possible consequences.

Penalties for non-alcohol related restraints can be:

  • 5 days to 6 months jail time;
  • Up to a $500 fine;
  • Increase of time for restraint of license.

Penalties for alcohol or drug related restraints can be:

  • 30 days to 1 year jail time;
  • $500 to $1,000 fine;
  • And for subsequent convictions, the jail time can be increased to 90 days to 2 years in the county jail;
  • Increase of time for restraint of license.

What should I do about my driving license being suspended or restrained?

First thing you should do is stop driving immediately.  The last thing you want is another ticket.  The second thing you should do is contact a Suspended License Lawyer Colorado to investigate the reason your license is restrained or suspended in Colorado and represent you in Court.

CALL 303-963-9363 FOR HELP IMMEDIATELY!